2017 Mylan WTT Draft Set for March 14th

The 42nd season of Mylan World TeamTennis is set to kick off with the annual Mylan WTT Roster Draft, which will take place March 14th at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden at 9:00am PT. The draft allows teams to select available players who have signed up to participate for the 2017 Mylan WTT season.

The Breakers will be led at the draft by new team owner Eric Davidson, head coach Rick Leach and general manager Allen Hardison. Orange County has reached back-to-back finals but is looking to add new talent in the draft in the hopes of pushing the team closer toward the ultimate goal, the King Trophy.

The Roster Draft consists of four rounds and draft order is opposite of each team's 2016 finish. The New York Empire will draft 1st in each round, followed by the Springfield Lasers, Philadelphia Freedoms, Washington Kastles, the 2016 finalist Orange County Breakers and the 2016 champion, the San Diego Aviators. While the Breakers 5th pick in each round is not ideal, Orange County still found success in 2016 when they also had the 5th pick in each round.

The Breakers have some options entering the draft with available player protections from past years. Should they choose to sign up to play Mylan WTT in 2017, the Breakers can exercise player protection rights to the following players: 2015 Mylan WTT Male MVP Teymuraz Gabashvili (4th round), 2016 Mylan WTT Female MVP Nicole Gibbs (1st round), 2015 Mylan WTT Rookie of the Year Alla Kudryavtseva (2nd round), Scott Lipsky (3rd round) and Dennis Novikov (4th round). Steve Johnson, who was the Breakers Wild Card player in 2016 can also be protected by the Breakers, however, Johnson's Wild Card protection window would not fall until after the upcoming Roster Draft.

Fans can follow the draft action with live updates HERE and by following the Breakers Facebook and Twitter pages. The 2017 Mylan WTT season kicks off July 16th and Breakers season tickets will be going on sale in the next few weeks.



MylanGEICOHoag Orthopedic InstituteSunwest Bank
© 2017 WTT.com All rights reserved. Terms & Conditions ABOUT US | TICKETS | STADIUM | MEDIA | SPONSORS | TEAM | SCHEDULE | CONTACT US